Online Registration Deadline: May 19, 2024
Online Registration Deadline:
May 19, 2024
Register Here

Registration of Accompanying Guests

Après CPM-9 Activity:
Opal Grand Oceanfront Resort
10 N Ocean Blvd, Delray Beach, FL 33483
Go to map

The Workshop will provide an opportunity to review and discuss the state-of-the-art approaches to characterize porous materials of different origin. Lectures by recognized leaders in porous materials science will cover both theoretical principles and methodology of modern experimental techniques. Oral presentations and poster sessions will complement invited and keynote lectures. Proceedings will be published as a special volume of the journal Adsorption.


• Molecular Thermodynamics of Fluids in Pores • Adsorption and Capillary Phenomena • Intermolecular Interactions in Porous Confinements • Computer Simulations and Density Functional Theory • Energetic Heterogeneity of Surfaces • Fractal Characterization of Disordered Structures • Adsorption Porosimetry of Micro and Mesoporous Solids • Mercury Porosimetry and Liquid Intrusion Techniques • Thermoporometry and Calorimetry • Chromatographic Characterization of Porous Materials • High Resolution Microscopy and Image Analysis • Scattering Techniques for Pore Structure Analysis • Relations Between Structural, Transport, and Functional Properties

Special sessions will focus on:

• Novel Nanoporous Materials and Adsorption Processes for Industrial Applications • Computational Design and Screening of Novel Adsorbents • Modeling and Characterization of Hierarchical Nanostructured Materials • Adsorption Induced Deformation and Phase Transformations of Porous Frameworks • In-situ Monitoring of Adsorption and Fluid Flow in Porous Structures • Adsorption and Characterization of Geosorbents: Shale, Coal, Soil. • Adsorption of Polymers, Proteins, and Nanoparticles on Porous Substrates

Workshop Chair: Alexander V. Neimark
Rutgers University, USA      

Workshop Vice-Chair: Matthias Thommes
Friedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany         

International Advisory Committee 

• Paul A. Webley, Monash University  
• Freddy Kleitz, University of Vienna  
• Karim Sapag, Universidad Nacional de San Luis  
• Joeri Denayer, Vrije Universiteit Brussel  
• Diana Azevedo, Federal University of Ceara. Fortaleza  
• Fred Tavares, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro  
• Benoit Coasne, University of Grenoble-Alpes, France  
• Renaud Denoyel, Aix-Marseille University-CNRS  
• Alain Fuchs, Paris Science and Letters  
• Michael Fröba, University of Hamburg  
• Martin Hartman, Friedrich-Alexander-University Erlangen-Nürnberg  
• Stefan Kaskel, Technische Universität Dresden  
• Theodore Steriotis, NCSR Demokritos  
• Pantelis N. Trikalitis, University of Crete  
• Katsumi Kaneko, Shinshu University  
• Hirotomo Nishihara, Tohoku University  
• Youssef Belmabkhout, Mohammed VI Polytechnic University, Benguerir 
• Bogdan Kuchta, Wrocław University of Science and Technology 
• Paulo Mota, Universidade NOVA de Lisboa 
• Joaquin Silvestre-Albero, University of Alicante  
• Stefano Brandani, University of Edinburgh  
• Marc-Olivier Coppens, University College London 
• Erich Muller, Imperial College London 
• Lev Sarkisov, University of Manchester  
• Teresa Bandosz, City College, New York  
• Keith Gubbins, North Carolina State University  
• Peter Ravikovitch, ExxonMobil, Annandale, NJ  
• Randy Snurr, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL  
• Krista Walton, Georgia Institute of Technology 

The CPM-9 website is managed by the Indico portal and the secured payment is collected by the Rutgers Continuing Studies portal. Participants must register on both portals in two steps:

  1. Creation of an Indico account, followed by registration on the Indico portal, is required to submit an abstract and to proceed to the registration with payment.
  2. Registration on the secured Rutgers Continuing Studies portal to complete payment.
    • Detailed instructions for payment may be found here.